Managing Player storage
Media files, Layouts and other metadata are downloaded from the CMS onto the Player to allow for local playback in the most efficient way and to allow for offline use.
Players will automatically manage stored files on the local library and remove files that are no longer needed.
Rules for keeping or deleting a file
The CMS tells the Player which files it needs for the next “N” days of playback (where “N” days is defined in the CMS settings). All of the files in this list will be kept in the local library. Once a file is removed from this list it will remain in the local library for 30 days after which it will be automatically deleted. Change the "N" parameter from the CMS:
Navigate to CMS Settings located under the Administration section of the main CMS
From the General tab, enter a time in seconds for the Send files in advance field
Save
The default value is set at 172800 which is 2 days. This setting should be adjusted carefully as it directly affects the size of the Local Player Library and the amount of work the CMS has to do with each collection interval.
Using the Purge all functionality will delete all files saved locally by the player, forcing all files that are still required to be re-downloaded after the purge.
Using Purge all is a great way to get rid of all files saved on the player with only required files returned after the next collection from the CMS!
Last updated
Was this helpful?

